Imperfections and All, I’m Still #ProudToBeMe

It’s been so long since I’ve posted or even took a picture of me bare-faced. Maybe it’s because I’ve been really into make up lately, and I’ve been practicing make up looks a lot. But there’s also that standard given that your face needs to always look perfect. Even your body has to be sexy. There are all these standards given to us by society on what’s beautiful but is it really what is beautiful?

There is a noon time show here in the Philippines called showtime and one of their newest segments is the Advice Ganda. It’s where people can voice out their problems and Vice Ganda will give them advices or truths that they need to know. The problem given earlier was that this girl was being bullied, being called ugly and dark skinned. She was disappointed on how people judge so easily based on looks and I saw how hurt she really was because I saw her emotions flowing out in her voice and in her tears. So Vice gave her some advice about how real beauty comes from within and that acceptance is the key to becoming better. ClichΓ© as it may sound, but it’s really what’s on the inside that counts.

I think that we’ve all gone through that phase of wanting to be beautiful to fit in or to be more attractive to others or than others. But wanting to be pretty for others will not do you any good. Because different people = different opinions, whatever we do, there’s going to be someone who disagrees with us so why bother trying to please others. For me, being pretty depends on what you think of yourself. If you think you’re pretty with make up on then go put some on, but if you prefer going bare-faced then that is fine as well. Being beautiful will not start with others thinking that you are, but it’s when you think you are Beautiful.

The beauty that I’m talking about is not just about outer beauty, but more importantly, our inner beauty. It feels good to look beautiful but let’s not forget the things that really matter. That ganda will get you friends, but your personality is what will make people stay. When you’re beautiful inside, it will radiate to your outer beauty. We should think about other people’s concerns. Spend time getting to know others and developing relationships. Check up on your friends whom you haven’t talked to in a while, they might have some stories to tell. Don’t forget to spend time with your family, give them a day or two of full on family time. Spend time with God, getting to know Him and building your relationship with Him.

I know I’m not perfect, I have my flaws but hey, there’s always room for improvement and that’s why I’m trying to be better each day. We still have a long way to go, lots of people to encounter, many more experiences but there’s only going to be one of us, so here’s to becoming beautiful inside and out.

bare-faced me says hi

One thought on “Imperfections and All, I’m Still #ProudToBeMe

  1. Girl, you’re beautiful! I loved this post! The goal of my blog is actually something similar! My first post was all about how it’s okay to not fit the standard definition of “beautiful”! You should check it out if you have a second. Much love!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

