Goodbye 2015, Hello 2016

Happy New Year everyone! I hope you all enjoyed your 2015 as I enjoyed mine. This post will include: (1) Summary of how my 2015 went, (2) my expectations on 2016, and (3) some personal experiences on my faithlife. So I hope you’ll keep on reading 🙂

My 2015 went on like a roller coaster ride (like every year), but what’s important is that I’m still here alive and kicking, my family is safe, and we’re all happy. 2015 was very memorable for me because I turned 18 this year!!! Yes, I’m just 18 okay… It’s not as life changing as I imagined in my head it would be. I thought that turning 18 would open up a whole new world of adulthood, and well, it did. But it’s not exactly being 18 that made the difference, it’s the growing up part that did. I noticed that I know more things now than I did a year ago not only in academics but life in general. I’ve learned that you cannot please everyone, and everyone can’t please you. So maybe try to change the things you can for the better, and be at peace with those you can’t do anything about. I  now understand why some events had to happen before, for me to be the person I am today. Yes, our experiences make us, but they are not the definition of who we are. Being in college also exposed me to the many kinds of people and situations I haven’t encountered before. Growing up in the small community we have in Sta. Rosa, you basically knew almost everyone around you, either by name or by face (or by username on social media). In college, I started seeing new faces everyday. And this is without exaggeration, I see a new set of people everyday as I go to school. Being in a different and a busy part of the Philippines also gave me a lot to adjust to. But nonetheless, these things helped me learn more about myself and the world we’re living in. 2015 has been a year of new experiences and changes for me, and I know that 2016 will be full of them as well. Like a famous quote says, “The only thing constant in this world is change.” So I’m entering 2016 with a grateful heart and an expectant mind. I am choosing not to establish myself on something or someone that may change. I choose to put my trust on the One who is the same yesterday, now, and forever.

I am very thankful and grateful to God for all of the love and grace He had poured upon me and my family in the past year. But I am more excited for what He has in store for 2016. My January 1 devotion from Our Daily Journey is about “New” (duh Krista New year) but not really. New here doesn’t mean “brand new” but instead it means “renewed”. Like the new life we have when we receive Christ as our Lord and Savior. We become dead to sin and alive in Christ (2 Corinthians 5:17). We don’t die physically, but it’s the life that we lived before that does. This is the start of the “New” life that we have in Christ and it doesn’t just happen in a blink of an eye, it takes time. We are not perfect, but that doesn’t make God love us any less. I myself have been Christian for the longest time, but there are still times that I fail. I fall short. I ask for forgiveness but still feel regret and like I am not worthy anymore of the love of God. But it is in these times that I feel God’s love pouring out on me, His hand reaching out to me, His voice calling out my name.  I am beyond grateful that our God is a God of second(and third and fourth) chances, because after the many times I’ve failed His mercy still remains and He’s still there to welcome me with open arms. Following God’s word is not easy, and is sometimes uncomfortable but the temporary is nothing compared to eternal life we will have in Heaven with Him.

Going back to the present, I still am not perfect. But everyday is a chance for me (and for you) to be a step closer to becoming a better person and to get to know God more. We have a purpose, and God has something planned out for each and everyone of us (Jeremiah 29:11) and I hope and pray that this will be the year that we are guided with wisdom to make the right decisions for our future. Let us make the most out of the new year and may we have a fun-filled and faith-filled 2016.

Leave a Reply

